September 16th

Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPAFinally, photographic evidence that I have, in fact, been drinking Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA. Soph and I split the bottle this evening, pairing with a great chorizo and kale soup. Sometimes pairing beer and food can seem a little daunting to me, especially with a lackluster palate, so it’s nice to know I can always rely on the spicy food/IPA combo. (And when you’ve got some classic seasons of The Simpsons on DVD as well, that helps. Now that I think of it, the chili-cookoff episode would’ve been a great final compliment.)

Unibroue MauditeI then spent the night watching Frost/Nixon and drinking a Unibroue Maudite, which I let warm up for a bit while doing dishes. I often forget how great the Unibroue beers are, so drinking them is often like reuniting with a good friend after a long absence – you’re not really sure why you haven’t seen them in ages and make sure not to make that mistake again. This is definitely a strong, complex beer. Lots of malty sweetness with a bit of spice and some definite fizziness. It definitely should not be served straight from the fridge and I probably could have let it warm up even more. Their beers are never as good in the smaller bottles as they are in the corked ones, but it was still nice to be able to enjoy one on my own. If the weather stays cool, I may try making a stew with one of these. (I also thought of adding some Dogfish Head to the soup, but it is hard to depart with expensive beer for culinary purposes, at least with my limited purse-strings.)

Dogfish Head 60 Minute IPA on Ratebeer

Unibroue Maudite on Ratebeer

Today: 540mL. Year-to-date: 5.71L.

Leave a Reply

