September 24th

Hacker-Pschorr Munchener GoldIt is rare that I buy beer without having a vague idea of whether or not it is good, but when I was wasting time by wandering around a beer store and found something I had never seen before, my adventurous side took over. And now I know why I’m not a risk taker.

As mentioned a couple of posts back, German beers do very little for me. Sure, the Reinheitsgebot is great because the beers cannot have crappy additives or preservatives, but I think it has also made German beers far less interesting. That and the dominance of lagers in Germany makes a large swath of their brewing industry very unappealing to me. So my dislike of the Hacker-Pschorr Munchener Gold was not surprising. That’s not to say it’s a bad beer, just that my it doesn’t suit my tastes.

Dogfish Head 60-Minute IPAThat lackluster experience did not sate my desire for beer, so I’m currently finishing off a bottle of Dogfish Head 60-Minute IPA. After a small run of forgettable beers, this is utterly amazing. With only one bottle left, I’m sad to see it leave my fridge, but I know it will be replaced by delicious Fall beers. The last bottle is going to be paired with a very special Dogfish Head beer, so stay tuned for that!

Hacker-Pschorr Munchener Gold on Ratebeer

Dogfish Head 60-Minute IPA on Ratebeer

Today: 600mL. Year-to-date: 8.45L.

Leave a Reply

