October 18th

Gouden Carolus HopsinjoorI’ve been hit with a mild cold, so please excuse the lack of posting. My body hasn’t been desiring beer, which is a damn shame. Partial blame goes to a Sunday night of boozing, as a cousin was in from out of town and a trip to Bier Markt was made. The Dieu du Ciel Péché Mortel I had at home before going out didn’t help, either.

I was pleased to see that Bier Markt had a reasonably priced Koningshoeven Quadrupel on tap. After I ordered it, the bartender said it was his favourite, so I commend the man on his good taste. I’m going to miss this one being on LCBO shelves this Winter. Come back soon! Stay around on tap!

Then I kept up with the quads: a St. Bernardus Abt 12. A champion beer and one I should have stopped at. However, the lure of a Het Anker Gouden Carolus Hopsinjoor was too much: I had never tried it and, after the Christoffel the night earlier, I was curious to see how the two strongly hopped European beers compared. The Hopsinjoor was really dry and hoppy, with a mild straw colour. A nice beer, but probably too much of a shift in the opposite direction from the quads. Foolish me.

On a final note, I must say how impressed I was with Bier Markt. It was the one on King and was not what I was expecting, though the fact that it was a Sunday night might’ve helped. All the things I’ve heard in passing about the Esplanade location have been centered around the fact that it’s loud, trendy and continuously packed with people. It was none of these things (okay, maybe a little loud), the Belgium bottle list was pretty good and most were reasonably priced (unless you like gueuze). The only problem is that there isn’t much else in the area that interests me.

Dieu du Ciel Péché Mortel on Ratebeer

Het Anker Gouden Carolus Hopsinjoor

Koningshoeven Quadrupel on Ratebeer

St. Bernardus Abt 12 on Ratebeer

Today: 1.25L. Year-to-date: 19.27L.

Leave a Reply

