October 23rd

There were some celebratory beers had Friday because Soph and I were convocating. (More degrees to hang up! Brup brup!) The dinner was on my parents, so I chose a place with excellent food and beer – not the qualifications to meet in London, Ontario. My mom got a Grand River Highballer Pumpkin, Soph got a Rodenbach Grand Cru and I had a St. Bernadus Prior 8. If the rumour mill is correct, this beer consists of the same malts as the 12, but more water is used when brewing, which makes me want to think of the beers of variations of each other but that may not be the best approach. It certainly had similar tastes of dark fruits, molasses and a hint of spiciness, but at a more subdued in the alcohol. There is still a wallop here – a delicious Belgian wallop.

I was pretty full after dinner, so my dessert was of the liquid variety. My Grand River Russian Gun Imperial Stout was actually not as sweet and chocolately as I expected. Or rather, those characteristics were offset by a large amount of bitterness that minimized any creamy feel in the body. It was still a well made beer and an excellent nightcap (especially since the planned side trip to the Wellington brewery was abandoned because they were out of their impy stout).

Grand River Russian Gun Imperial Stout on Ratebeer

St. Bernardus Prior 8 on Ratebeer

Today: 830mL. Year-to-date: 20.45L

Leave a Reply

