November 6th

Heritage Premium LagerAfter much stress, I was glad to get my interview over with on Friday, as well as the work that followed, so I could get home and relax with a nice cold one. Soph suggested the Heritage Premium Lager that had been in our fridge since she went home for Thanksgiving. I figured it would be bland and inoffensive enough to accompany our dinner, which it was. The beer was straw coloured with a sizable white head that quickly fizzled away. It was far too sweet, with little hops to balance the pale malts, though this was enough to cleanse my palate when eating a very peppery dish. The best part was that the beer came in a stubby. ‘Nuff said.

Souther Tier IPALater on, I stole a Southern Tier IPA that Soph bought. (Don’t look at me like that! She was out drinking four of them!) While this lacks the intensity of something like the Dieu du Ciel Corne du Diable, it still has a nice balance between floral hops and malts. It would probably be easier to drink many of these, where the one Diable is all I need to feel satisfied most evenings.

And I think it is safe to announce that, after many months of courting, I have fallen in love with India Pale Ales. It has taken me a while to fully appreciate the joy of a well hopped beer, but I think I’m there. Don’t worry malt, you’re still my first love.

Heritage Premium Lager on Ratebeer

Southern Tier IPA on Ratebeer

Today: 696mL. Year-to-date: 24.94L.

2 responses to “November 6th

  1. What was the peppery dish? You should make Soph start a food blog to compliment your beer blog 🙂

    • The reason I didn’t mention the food is because it is somewhat embarrassing. Let’s just say we were lazy and didn’t make dinner.

Leave a Reply

