December 7th

Beers that suddenly spring up in the LCBO are a quite nice surprise, especially when they’re from Eastern Ontario and previously unavailable to those who don’t live out Ottawa way (technically Vankleek Hill way, but that means nothing to most people, including my Ottawa-born-and-raised girlfriend). When I got my bottle Beau’s Lug Tread Lagered Ale and found that it had been bottled on December 1st, there was even more cause for celebration. Fresh beer that comes in a lovely ceramic bottle from within the province? Sign me up.

But I had to actually taste the beer before getting too excited. One disappointing aspect was the style of beer. I have no idea what defines the kolsch style, but it is German and that usually means a thumbs down from me. The beer poured a light, clear orange with a small white head. The aroma and taste was dominated by grassy hops, making it taste very similar to Lowenbrau. There’s some of the bready malt flavours common in Germanic styles, but everything doesn’t jive to me. This is definitely more of a Summer beer, though, so I’ll give it another shot when the weather does an about face.

Beau’s Lug Tread Lagered Ale on Ratebeer

Today: 500mL. Year-to-date: 33.67L.

Leave a Reply

