December 25th

Christmas! After dinner the night before, which was seriously lacking in vegetables, and a breakfast of bacon, eggs and a danish, my body was beginning to get angry and I couldn’t open my first festive beer till after 3pm. Life is rough. A bottle of Black Oak Nutcracker Porter seemed mandatory for Christmas day (and not just because it matched the tablecloth). My god, this is delicious. Most porters taste like chocolate, coffee or a combination of both, but this was just a wonderful blend of roasted goodness. I couldn’t detect the added cinnamon, so my guess is that its purpose is to help muddle some of the roasted flavours together. A nice bitter finish made this a great beer to lounge around with.

I would have poured myself another, but my brother brought me a Black Oak Pale Ale in an attempt to keep me drinking. Very hoppy with lots of pine, it didn’t have the malt to make it a wonderful beer, but it provides a good option when you’re not looking for anything too robust. This carried me through dinner, along with some Johnnie Walker Blue Label and a rosé named for a Beatles song. (The scotch was forced upon me and I had a hard time saying no.)

After dinner was a Harviestoun Ola Dubh 12 (magically delicious) and another Nutcracker while relaxing and chatting with the family, followed by me going to bed like a baby.

Black Oak Nutcracker Porter on Ratebeer

Black Oak Pale Ale on Ratebeer

Harviestoun Ola Dubh 12 on Ratebeer

Today: 1.32L. Year-to-date: 42.03L.

Leave a Reply

