February 3rd

My work schedule hasn’t been the greatest for the past two weeks and it’s not getting any better – lots of 9am-12:30pm and 5pm-8:30pm shifts, usually on the same day. One of the few nice things is that I can sometimes make my lunch at home and enjoy a Black Oak Nutcracker Porter at one in the afternoon. Once again, let me repeat how great this tastes: espresso, cinnamon, a nice bitterness to the finish combined with a great body. There’s only one bottle left and I’ll be sad when there’s no more Nutcracker in my house.

Today: 341mL. Year-to-date: 55.9L.

The five month mark of this blog was hit a couple of days ago, meaning that seven months remain in this year of beer adventure. Most of the seasonal releases are covered and it’s at least another month till the Spring beers start hitting the shelves, which means it’s time for me to take my Metropass and start heading straight to the micros and bars. The cellar list will probably also shrink during February, especially the Quebec beers.

And one last reminder in case you missed it: the Mill Street cask night is not starting tonight but will begin next Friday, the 12th. Soph and I have a trip to Mike Duggan’s planned – I need some of the #9 in bottles.

Leave a Reply

