February 27th

My parents hosted an odd dinner party Saturday night that involved a drunk minister (and I don’t mean a government minister). The wine was flowing quite freely and I was happy enough with that, but then my brother covertly poured me a Smithwick’s Ale and plopped it down in front of me. I don’t think I’ve ever had Smithwick’s before and was a little shocked to find that it wasn’t just a pale lager, but had a nice amber hue. Overall, I was actually impressed. It was mostly a lot of caramel sweetness from the malt, with some biscuit and grains. The hops weren’t really present, but it was still quite drinkable. Probably not something I’d buy, but it’s nice to know I now have the option (especially at a bar without better options).

Smithwick’s Ale on Ratebeer

Today: 341ml. Year-t0-date: 67.67L.

2 responses to “February 27th

  1. I enjoy Smithwicks.

  2. THE IRISH TRILOGY – PART 2 – SMITHWICK’S

    ‘Tis sure I’ll be wearing the green,

    When the calendar says March seventeen,

    To help me to think,

    It Smithwick’s I drink,

    Just try some, you’ll know what I mean.

Leave a Reply

