March 2nd

Since getting a proper dutch oven, I’ve been cooking a lot of one pot meals where the grain and liquid goes at the bottom, then covered by meat/fish/tofu, veggies and sauce/spices. The idea is that the flavours get infused into all parts of the meal as everything bakes/steams in the oven (it’s also a fairly easy way to cook, once all the prep is done). At first I was using recipes but am now branching out to my own creations, which means I’m starting to use beer as the liquid. I experimented with a can of Muskoka Hefe-Weissbier, brown rice, shrimp, onions, garlic, peppers and purple sweet potato. The flavours didn’t transfer to the rest of the dish as much as I’d hoped (next time I would probably throw in some lemon slices and use salmon), but it was still a fun way to cook with beer, especially as I got to drink the other half of the can that didn’t go into the dish.

The Muskoka hefe-weiss is a nice as an everyday beer that is tasty yet reserved. Lots of banana and clove, with some lemon in the background. A little too sweet, but I reserve the right to change that opinion when it is July and the sweat is dripping from every disgusting orifice of my body. It doesn’t get the light, puffy head of an “authentic” weissbier, but it is too damn tasty to make me care.

Muskoka Hefe-Weissbier on Ratebeer

Today: 250mL. Year-to-date: 69.09L.

Leave a Reply

