March 30th + 31st

Like any serious beer drinker in Ontario, I have been known to complain about selection at the LCBO (and no, I don’t even dignify the Beer Store as a place to buy beer. I complain about their selection of alcoholic, corn-based beverages). But even though I annoy friends and loved ones with my almost-constant bitching, there are some beers that I like yet end up passing over for months on end. The reason? It is not that they are bad, but I just always end up choosing something else over them. A perfect example of this is the Flying Monkeys Hoptical Illusion, a beer that has not graced my lips since the beginning of October. I see it in most of the LCBOs I go to and think, “Hmm, maybe this time…” but then see something else shiny and get distracted.

The Hoptical Illusion is quite simply a well-made craft beer. Not one that will knock your socks off, but still fun to drink. If it were a girlfriend, it’d be pretty low maintenance (though you wouldn’t want her catching you eying those foreign girls from Belgium or Germany). This is a very fruity pale ale with a lot of grapefruit flavours. A slightly bitter finish, but there is plenty of malts to balance things out (ie. this will not satisfy the cravings of hop-heads).

I’ll be honest – I want to spend my Easter weekend doing more drinking than blogging, so I’m just going to throw in that I had a Unibroue Trois Pistoles last night. Quite a lovely nightcap. Now for sunshine!

Flying Monkeys Hoptical Illusion on Ratebeer

Unibroue Trois Pistoles on Ratebeer

Today: 696mL. Year-to-date: 80.14L.

And that is seven months of drinking. My current pace is for 135-140L of beer and I wouldn’t be surprised if it spikes a little higher. Perhaps I’ll wind up the year with consulting a doctor to see how unhealthy all that beer consumption is…

Leave a Reply

