April 26th + 27th

Monday night was spent drinking some homebrew with my visiting friend, though it was not brewed by either of us but a mutual friend. First up was an IPA that teased with a sensual aroma of pine, but was a little weak in terms of flavour. There was a nice balance between hops and caramel malts, but not enough of either.

Up next was what my friend Dean called his “hoppy festival ale,” but tasted like a dry tripel to me. Crisp green apple, a little spicyness and some yeast esters, combined with tiny, fizzy bubbles and the dry finish, made quite the enjoyable brew. A definite herbal quality as well. A nice example of how homebrewing can let you play around with styles without worrying about what to call the beer.

And one night later, I was grappling with why a Flying Monkeys Hoptical Illusion, trying to figure out why I love it one day and slog through it the next. For one, I find the hops vary from bottle to bottle: sometimes they sing, other times they are mumbling in the corner. There is also a strong nutty character to the beer that I could do without. I know the Hoptical has its fans out there, but I think it will be going out of my buying rotation.

Flying Monkeys Hoptical Illusion on Ratebeer

Today: 700mL. Year-to-date: 92.79L

2 responses to “April 26th + 27th

  1. I have also found this beer maddeningly inconsistent….3 will be super hoppy and 3 not at all in the same 6pack.

  2. Hoptical Illusion I mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

