June 15th

For the second post in a row I’m drinking an IPA that has been in my cupboard for far too long. Unlike the Rogue Yellow Snow, my hesitance to drink the Mike Duggan #9 IPA was because I just didn’t enjoy the first five bottles. The nose was akin to household cleaners that smell like pine, which was a little terrifying. However, the beer now tasted very yummy, though obviously different from the draught version. Very malty and extremely nutty (almonds in particular). A nice bitterness that helped bring everything together. The most enjoyable bottle of my six and it I only had to wait six months for the tastes to round out.

Seeing as this bottle was purchased just as Duggan’s was starting to bottle, I am hoping they’ve tweaked some things and the latest batches are truer to the intent of the beer. The #9 is also starting to trickle through the LCBO, so keep your eyes open for a really small six-pack (bottles are 275mL and the reasoning is still unknown). With the smaller size and less strain on my wallet, I’ll be looking to try the #9 once I’ve got some more room in my fridge.

Mike Duggan #9 IPA on Ratebeer

Today: 340mL. Year-to-date: 120.44L.

One response to “June 15th

  1. I can’t say that I like the small bottle. You go through a 6-pack really fast!

Leave a Reply

