June 27th

I was quite content to stay in while Toronto was turning to shit this weekend. Having seen images from other international protests and expecting the same to occur in Toronto, I thought I was ambivalent in my state of readiness. But then to see video and photos of people bashing in windows on well known streets, the police surrounding protesters and the curious (and stupid) at Spadina and Queen, and the desolate emptiness of the University of Toronto campus – well, it was quite a shock. These everyday, familiar locations became dystopian, either in scenes of chaos or calm. I knew I loved Toronto, but didn’t know how much until people started fucking around with it.

At times I was slightly curious and wanted to see the action for myself, but it seemed that would only support the protesters (or rather the more militant ones – I fully support all the peaceful protesters and felt bad that their causes got trumped by some assholes) in bringing attention to them.

The only logical conclusion was to watch some football and drink. I started off with a Schneiders Wiesen Edel-Weiss. Much less spicy than a lot of its German counterparts, this is still an intensely flavourful beer. The banana is very prominent, as is lemon zest. Very cloudy and with a sizable head. A great beer summer beer.

Then one of the better selections from my stash – North Coast Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout. As much as I usually drink beers according to seasonality (the colder it gets, the darker the beers get and vice versa), I still get moments in the summer when I feel like roasted malts. If anything, drinking imperial stouts in warmer weather allows me to enjoy them for a little bit longer. The beers are much heavier, so I have to take my time, which means savouring every moment. The Old Rasputin is a perfect sipper, with heavy aromas and flavours of fine dark chocolate. There is some coffee just before you’re hit with a lot of bitterness. The alcohol is nicely blended in. My only complaint is that it is a bit over-carbonated and too prickly on the tongue. Other than that, this is a great beer.

North Coast Old Rasputin Russian Imperial Stout on Ratebeer

Schneiders Wiesen Edel-Weiss on Ratebeer

Today: 850mL. Year-to-date: 128.77L.

3 responses to “June 27th

  1. I agree, I really enjoy a stout or porter on a summer evening as well! Rasputin sounds great.

  2. I found that schneider edel weiss extremely easy to drink. and quite pleasant indeed.

    where did you grab the old rasputin? as matt says it sounds awesome.

Leave a Reply

